Chef working in a kitchen

Servsafe Logo

ServSafe Courses:

All classes are first come, first serve and are non-refundable.  Payment and registration form must be received prior to class participation confirmation.  Prior to signing up for an Accelerated course please contact the office for specifics.

Provincetown: 7/11/22 & 7/18/22
Click here for more info

Barnstable County Complex: 7/12/22 & 7/19/22 CLOSED AS OF 6/21/22
Click here for more info

Barnstable County Complex: 8/16/22 & 8/23/22
Click here for more info

 

 

Cape Cod Cooperative Extension offers ServSafe courses for both first-time food safety certification and recertification. By law, all food service locations must have at least one full-time food safety certified employee who is at least 18 years of age on staff.

This 8-hour course which is usually taught during two half-day sessions is designed for initial certification of food service owners and managers with the objective to:

  • Increase safe food handling practices
  • Gain a better understanding of HACCP principles
  • Improve upon methods of purchasing, receiving, storing, preparing, and serving safe food
  • Maintain a sanitary facility
  • Understand the regulations and the inspection process
  • Teach employees how to apply safe food handling practices

The course includes a ServSafe textbook, reproducible training materials, a food thermometer, examination, and ServSafe certificate upon successful completion of the exam.  The cost for this course is $175. Certificate is valid for five years. Please Note: You must attend both classes to successfully complete this course.

The recertification course begins with a 1 ½ to 2-hour review and certification exam. The review will cover time & temperature control throughout the flow of food, preventing cross contamination, practicing good personal hygiene, establishing cleaning and sanitizing  procedures, and practice exam.

The course includes online study materials, reproducible training materials, examination, ServSafe certificate upon successful completion of the exam.  The cost for this course is $75. Certificate is valid for five years. Prior to attending class, please prepare for the exam by studying from your previous ServSafe course book and class materials.

Food Handling is a Risky Business

Food Handling is a Risky Business (FHRB) is an interactive 1-2 hour food safety program designed for food handlers in preparation and service. Participants of the program will increase knowledge of food safety principles, adopt recommended food handling practices, and increase knowledge of Massachusetts Food Code regulations.  This program can be tailored to the needs of your group.  A certificate of completion will be presented to participants at the close of the program.

Note: there are other acceptable exams and trainers in Massachusetts. For more information please call our office or see the trainer listing at http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/departments/dph/programs/environmental-health/food-safety/

Allergen Awareness Training

Allergen Awareness Training is required by Massachusetts Food Protection Program.  The certificate is valid for 5 years and gets posted with your Certified Food Safety Manager (ServSafe) certificate.

Interested in ServSafe?

Kimberly Concra, LDN Extension Educator, Nutrition and Food Safety