image of barnstable county courthouse

Latest Recipient

Cyndy Jones Honored as the 2024 Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year for Veteran Support

(May 9, 2024) CapeCodMA – The Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award Committee is delighted to announce Cyndy Jones of Mashpee as the 2024 Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year. This prestigious honor recognizes Ms. Jones for her extraordinary dedication to veterans and their families through her nonprofit organization, Heroes in Transition.

After the tragic loss of her son, US Marine Captain Eric Jones, Ms. Jones, alongside her late husband Ken, founded Heroes in Transition. This organization has become essential in providing services not covered by government programs, including emotional support animals and extensive family support programming.

Timothy Whelan, in his nomination, said, “In the wake of their family tragedy, Cyndy and Ken Jones made a conscious decision to take their son’s sacrifice and make something beautiful out of this tragedy by founding a 501(c)(3) non-profit we now know as Heroes in Transition. They well knew Eric’s devotion to the welfare of his Marines and wanted to honor his memory by continuing that devotion in his honor.”

Silene Gordon, who also nominated Ms. Jones, praised her broader community impact: “Cape Cod is incredibly fortunate to have Cyndy Jones of Mashpee serving Barnstable County as a pillar of strength, grace, humility, and community spirit. While Cyndy is widely known for her commitment to supporting veterans on Cape Cod, her commitment to volunteerism and education extends beyond her work with veterans and makes her an exemplary choice to be the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year 2024.”

About the Celebration: The award will be presented to Ms. Jones by last year’s recipient, Amanda Converse, on May 29, 2024, at 7 p.m. at the 1717 Meetinghouse, 2049 Meetinghouse Way in West Barnstable. The award, a bronze statuette created by Town of Barnstable artist David Lewis, replicates the statue of Mercy Otis Warren located on the Superior Court House lawn in Barnstable Village.

Sponsors & Thanks: Our heartfelt thanks go to our sponsors: Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, Barnstable County, Barnstable Village Association, and West Barnstable Civic Association. Special thanks to Cape Cod Chronicle, the Cape Cod Times, the Enterprise Newspapers, and the Provincetown Independent.

About Mercy Otis Warren: Mercy Otis Warren, born in West Barnstable in 1728, was a playwright, historian, and a pioneer in women’s causes, advocating for liberty and the Bill of Rights. As a prominent figure during the Revolutionary War, her advocacy was remarkable in a time when it was rare for women to receive an education or emerge as leaders.

Past Recipients: Since its inception in 2002, the award has honored a series of remarkable women who have significantly contributed to the Cape Cod community. These recipients include:




Marion R. Vuilleumier


Jean D. Gardner


Eugenia Fortes


Felicia R. Penn


Bonnie M. Snow


Lynne M. Poyant


Josephine P. Ives


Mary L. LeClair


Gloria W. Rudman


Susan A. French


Judy Walden Scarafile


Dorothy A. Savarese


Mary Lou Petitt


Michelle L. DeSilva


Ann M. Williams


Dolores Holden Daluz


Nancy Viall Shoemaker


Juliet Bernstein


Mimi McConnell


Wendy Northcross


Angelina Chilaka


Amanda Converse


For more information about the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award, please visit

Media Contact: Sonja Sheasley 508-221-4948 |