image of barnstable county courthouse

Honor a Cape Cod Woman Leader with a Nomination for the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year  Award 

Barnstable, MA, March 4, 2024 – The Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award Committee is pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the annual award honoring a woman on Cape Cod who has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the community. 

Each year, the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award recognizes an exceptional woman who embodies leadership and service in the community, reflecting the legacy of Mercy Otis Warren. This prestigious award celebrates individuals who have made significant contributions to one or more of the following:  the Arts, Business, Education, Community Involvement, and/or Volunteerism on a local level, while embracing the ideals of Patriotism. 

The award ceremony for the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award 2024 will take place on Wednesday, May 29, 2024, 7:00 p.m.  at West Parish of Barnstable, located at the 1717 Meetinghouse in West Barnstable at 2049 Meetinghouse Way. 

The recipient of the award will be presented with a statuette of Mercy Otis Warren by celebrated local sculptor David Lewis, continuing the tradition established since the inception of the annual event in 2002. 

Nominees should be described, emphasizing their diverse and significant contributions to the community. Please submit nominations online by uploading supporting information at Each upload should be limited to 500 words or less. The submission deadline is April 16, 2024, at 11:59 PM. 

For further details about the award, its history, and its generous local sponsors, please visit or contact :

ABOUT THE MERCY OTIS WARREN WOMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD: The Award was first presented to historian Marion Vuilleumier in 2002. Past recipients include Marion R. Vuilleumier (2002), Jean D. Gardner (2003), Eugenia Fortes (2004), Felicia R. Penn (2005), Bonnie M. Snow (2006), Lynne M. Poyant (2007), Josephine P. Ives (2008), Mary L. LeClair (2009), Gloria W. Rudman (2010), Susan A. French (2011), Judy Walden Scarafile (2012), Dorothy A. Savarese (2013), Mary Lou Petitt (2014), Michelle L. DeSilva (2015), Ann M. Williams (2016), Dolores Holden Daluz (2017), Nancy Viall Shoemaker (2018), Juliet Bernstein (2019), Mimi McConnell (2020), Wendy Northcross (2021), Angelina Chilaka (2022), and Amanda Converse (2023). 

ABOUT MERCY OTIS WARREN: Mercy Otis Warren was born in the village of West Barnstable in 1728. She was the third of thirteen children and the first daughter born to James and Mary Allyne Otis. While her older brother James (“The Patriot”) was recognized as one of the Sons of Liberty in the 1760s, Mercy Otis Warren has been referred to as “The First Lady of the American Revolution”. In an era when it was uncommon for women to receive education beyond reading and writing, Mercy’s father, Judge James Otis, Sr., allowed her to study with the West Parish Reverend Jonathan Russell while he tutored her brothers in preparation for Harvard College. Upon marrying James Warren in 1754, she became increasingly involved in his political life, publishing works that challenged British authority and advocating for women’s rights. Her legacy continues to inspire generations, with recognition including the posthumous induction into the National Women’s Hall of Fame in 2002.