image of barnstable county courthouse

Year 20 AmeriCorps Cape Cod Members Take Pledge of Service

Year 20 AmeriCorps Cape Cod members are sworn in on Wednesday, September 26, 2018.

Yesterday 24 new AmeriCorps Cape Cod members took the pledge of service administered by AmeriCorps Cape Cod Program Coordinator Andrew Platt.  The event was attended by many of the service partners that the AmeriCorps Cape Cod members will serve over the course of the next 11 months.

The members are a diverse group of trained adults who will serve various towns, County, State, Federal, and Nonprofit entities on Cape Cod, focusing on the areas of natural resource management, disaster preparedness and response, environmental education, and volunteer engagement.

Program Coordinator Andrew Platt leads the swearing in ceremony of 24 new AmeriCorps Cape Cod members.

AmeriCorps Cape Cod is funded by Barnstable County and through grants from the Massachusetts Service Alliance and the Corporation for National and Community Service. AmeriCorps Cape Cod is managed through the Barnstable County Resource Development Office. For more information about AmeriCorps Cape Cod, contact the Barnstable County Resource Development Office at (508) 375-6869 or

The following is a list of the 28 organizations that AmeriCorps Cape Cod members will be serving this year:

  • American Red Cross
  • Association to Preserve Cape Cod
  • Barnstable Clean Water Coalition
  • Barnstable County Department of Health and Environment/MASSTC
  • Barnstable County Regional Emergency Planning Committee
    Barnstable Land Trust
  • Cape Cod Commission
  • Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
  • Cape Cod National Seashore Fire Office
  • Cape Cod National Seashore Planning Office
  • Harwich Conservation Trust – Town of Harwich – Chatham Conservation Foundation
  • International Fund for Animal Welfare
  • Mass Audubon CWP and Long Pasture Wildlife Sanctuary
  • National Marine Life Center
  • Town of Barnstable Conservation & Shellfish & Sandy Neck
  • Town of Brewster DNR & Brewster Conservation Trust
  • Town of Chatham DNR – Pleasant Bay Community Boating
  • Town of Dennis DNR & Dennis Conservation Trust
  • Town of Eastham DNR & Eastham Conservation Foundation
  • Town of Falmouth Conservation and 300 Committee
  • Town of Falmouth MES Shellfish
  • Town of Mashpee DNR and Conservation Department
  • Town of Orleans DNR & Orleans Conservation Trust
  • Town of Provincetown Conservation, Open Space and Harbor Committees
  • Town of Sandwich DNR
  • Town of Wellfleet Conservation and Shellfish, Town of Truro Conservation
  • Town of Yarmouth Conservation
  • Waquoit Bay Estuary Research Reserve, Friends of Mashpee Wildlife Refuge

Best of luck for a great year of service!