image of barnstable county courthouse

Cyndy Jones Honored as the 2024 Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year for Veteran Support 

(May 9, 2024) Cape, Cod, MA – The Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award Committee is delighted to announce Cyndy Jones of Mashpee as the 2024 Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year. This prestigious honor recognizes Ms. Jones for her extraordinary dedication to veterans and their families through her nonprofit organization, Heroes in Transition. 

After the tragic loss of her son, US Marine Captain Eric Jones, Ms. Jones, alongside her late husband Ken, founded Heroes in Transition. This organization has become essential in providing services not covered by government programs, including emotional support animals and extensive family support programming. 

Timothy Whelan, in his nomination, said, “In the wake of their family tragedy, Cyndy and Ken Jones made a conscious decision to take their son’s sacrifice and make something beautiful out of this tragedy by founding a 501(c)(3) non-profit we now know as Heroes in Transition. They well knew Eric’s devotion to the welfare of his Marines and wanted to honor his memory by continuing that devotion in his honor.” 

Silene Gordon, who also nominated Ms. Jones, praised her broader community impact: “Cape Cod is incredibly fortunate to have Cyndy Jones of Mashpee serving Barnstable County as a pillar of strength, grace, humility, and community spirit. While Cyndy is widely known for her commitment to supporting veterans on Cape Cod, her commitment to volunteerism and education extends beyond her work with veterans and makes her an exemplary choice to be the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year 2024.” 

About the Celebration: The award will be presented to Ms. Jones by last year’s recipient, Amanda Converse, on May 29, 2024, at 7 p.m. at the 1717 Meetinghouse, 2049 Meetinghouse Way in West Barnstable. The award, a bronze statuette created by Town of Barnstable artist David Lewis, replicates the statue of Mercy Otis Warren located on the Superior Court House lawn in Barnstable Village. 

Sponsors & Thanks: Our heartfelt thanks go to our sponsors: Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank, Barnstable County, Barnstable Village Association, and West Barnstable Civic Association. Special thanks to Cape Cod Chronicle, the Cape Cod Times, the Enterprise Newspapers, and the Provincetown Independent. 

About Mercy Otis Warren: Mercy Otis Warren, born in West Barnstable in 1728, was a playwright, historian, and a pioneer in women’s causes, advocating for liberty and the Bill of Rights. As a prominent figure during the Revolutionary War, her advocacy was remarkable in a time when it was rare for women to receive an education or emerge as leaders. 

Past Recipients: Since its inception in 2002, the award has honored a series of remarkable women who have significantly contributed to the Cape Cod community. These recipients include: 

Year Recipient 
2002 Marion R. Vuilleumier 
2003 Jean D. Gardner 
2004 Eugenia Fortes 
2005 Felicia R. Penn 
2006 Bonnie M. Snow 
2007 Lynne M. Poyant 
2008 Josephine P. Ives 
2009 Mary L. LeClair 
2010 Gloria W. Rudman 
2011 Susan A. French 
2012 Judy Walden Scarafile 
2013 Dorothy A. Savarese 
2014 Mary Lou Petitt 
2015 Michelle L. DeSilva 
2016 Ann M. Williams 
2017 Dolores Holden Daluz 
2018 Nancy Viall Shoemaker 
2019 Juliet Bernstein 
2020 Mimi McConnell 
2021 Wendy Northcross 
2022 Angelina Chilaka 
2023 Amanda Converse 

For more information about the Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award, please visit