image of barnstable county courthouse

Barnstable County Continues to Prepare for Increased Number of COVID-19 Cases







BCREPC Media Release  

Barnstable County Regional Emergency Planning Committee

Media Release 003 – COVID-19


For Immediate Release

Barnstable County Continues to Prepare for Increased Number of COVID-19 Cases

BARNSTABLE (MA) March 20, 2020 – The Barnstable County Regional Emergency Planning Committee (BCREPC) held a conference call on Thursday, March 19, 2020, at 4:00 p.m. to review the current COVID-19 conditions and to discuss preparation efforts in the county. Agencies present on the call included over 75 representatives from across Cape Cod’s 15 towns and Nantucket.

Updates and guidance

BCREPC Multi-Agency Coordination Center (MACC) continues to operate as a limited activation in response to COVID-19 from 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM.  The MACC is currently focusing its efforts on assisting with resource requests for the COVID-19 test site at Cape Cod Community College and supporting testing operations with Cape Cod Healthcare.

According to Massachusetts Department of Public Health, there were 5 positive cases in Barnstable County at the time of this call.

The BCREPC wants to ensure that Barnstable County residents know that a coordinated response is taking place in our region.  The general public is asked to practice social distancing, consistent hand-washing, and other recommendations for prevention made by Massachusetts Department of Public Health.  For more instructions, please visit


Barnstable County Regional Emergency Planning Committee (BCREPC)

The BCREPC was founded in September 2002 to assist the communities on Cape Cod and the Town of Nantucket with addressing hazardous materials emergency planning and response as required by the federal government. Today, the BCREPC has expanded its scope to include “All Hazard” emergency

planning issues such as storm response, sheltering and grants management. The BCREPC is a coalition of emergency management, law enforcement, fire service, health care, public health, public works, EMS, military, and numerous other affiliated agencies as outlined by the Massachusetts State Emergency Response Committee (SERC). It represents the towns of Barnstable, Bourne, Brewster, Chatham, Dennis, Eastham, Falmouth, Harwich, Mashpee, Orleans, Provincetown, Sandwich, Truro, Wellfleet, and Yarmouth in Barnstable County, and the town of Nantucket in Nantucket County. The REPC is coordinated by the Barnstable County Department of Health and Environment. Visit