# CAPE COD REGIONAL GOVERNMENT ASSEMBLY of DELEGATES 2024 Session Resolution No. 4

To establish a Charter Review Committee under County Home Rule Charter Section 9 – 4

**Whereas,** the County Home Rule Charter requires that at least once in every five years, in years ending in a five or in a zero, the Assembly of Delegates shall provide for a special committee to be established which shall be charged with the responsibility of reviewing the then-existing charter and ordinances of the county for the purpose of determining if any amendments or revisions may be necessary or desirable; and

**Whereas,** the charter requires that special committee to make a report, with recommendations, to the Assembly of Delegates concerning any proposed amendments or revisions which said committee may deem to be necessary or desirable, not more than ten months following the date such committee is appointed; and

**Whereas,** such review may be conducted in conjunction with the Cape Cod regional government legal officer, or if the Assembly of Delegates so directs, by special counsel retained for that purpose; and

**Whereas,** the charter requires the committee to include representation of municipal officials of the municipalities which comprise the county;

# Now therefore,

Be it hereby resolved by the Cape Cod regional government Assembly of Delegates:

#### Section 1.

All committees created by the Assembly of Delegates in previous resolutions for charter review are hereby abolished.

#### Section 2.

A Charter Review Committee is hereby established under Section 9 – 4 (a).

## Section 3.

The committee shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the Speaker and shall include:

1) the Speaker or their designee;

- 2) at least one member of the Assembly of Delegates;
- 3) the Chair of the County Board of Regional Commissioners or their designee if provided;
- 4) at least one municipal official of the municipalities which comprise the County; and
- 5) at least one member who resides in each from the Upper Cape (Bourne, Sandwich, Falmouth, and Mashpee), Mid Cape (Barnstable, Dennis, and Yarmouth), Lower Cape (Brewster, Harwich, Chatham, and Orleans) and Outer Cape (Eastham, Wellfleet, Truro, and Provincetown).

## Section 4.

The Assembly shall request recommendations for committee members from the select boards of the towns in Barnstable County and the Barnstable Town Council.

The Assembly of Delegates adopted the foregoing Resolution No. 4 at its regular meeting on August 7, 2024 by a roll call vote with delegates representing 68.75% of the population of Barnstable County voting in the affirmative, delegates representing 15.76% of the population voting in the negative, delegates representing 2.51% voting present, and delegates representing 12.98% of the population absent.

