image of barnstable county courthouse

AmeriCorps Cape Cod Officially Welcomes Year 21 Members at Swearing-in Ceremony

September 25, 2019 – Today 21 new AmeriCorps Cape Cod members took the pledge of service administered by AmeriCorps Cape Cod Program Coordinator Kayla Baier on the front steps of the Superior Courthouse at the Barnstable County Complex this morning.  The event was attended by many of the service partners that the AmeriCorps Cape Cod members will serve over the next ten months.

Barnstable County Commissioner Ronald Bergstrom (Chairman), Commissioner Mary Pat Flynn (Vice-Chair), County Administrator Jack Yunits, Jr., and the 2019-2020 Service Partners were all in attendance.  Chairman Bergstrom delivered welcoming remarks.

Kayla Baier, Program Coordinator, officiated the swearing-in ceremony for year 21 today.

The members are a diverse group of trained adults who will serve various towns, County, State, Federal, and Nonprofit entities on Cape Cod, focusing on the areas of natural resource management, disaster preparedness and response, environmental education, and volunteer engagement.

AmeriCorps Cape Cod is funded by Barnstable County and through grants from the Massachusetts Service Alliance and the Corporation for National and Community Service. AmeriCorps Cape Cod is managed through the Barnstable County Resource Development Office. For more information about AmeriCorps Cape Cod, contact the Barnstable County Resource Development Office at (508) 375-6869 or

The following is a list of organizations that AmeriCorps Cape Cod members will be serving this year:

Barnstable Clean Water Coalition
Barnstable County’s Cape Cod Cooperative Extension
Barnstable Land Trust
Brewster Conservation Trust
Cape Cod National Seashore- Fire Management
Cape Cod National Seashore
Center for Coastal Studies
International Fund for Animal Welfare
Mass Audubon Coastal Waterbird Program/Long Pasture Wildlife Sanctuary
Orleans Conservation Trust
The 300 Committee Land Trust / Falmouth Conservation Commission
Town of Barnstable Natural Resources
Town of Brewster Department of Natural Resources
Town of Chatham Department of Natural Resources/ Chatham Conservation Foundation
Town of Dennis Department of Natural Resources
Town of Falmouth, MA (Shellfish & Biological Services Division)
Town of Falmouth Department of Public Works, Parks Division
Town of Harwich Conservation and Cemetery Departments Harwich Conservation Trust
Town of Orleans’ Department of Natural Resources
Town of Sandwich, Department of Natural Resources
Waquoit bay National Estuarine Research Reserve/ Friends of Mashpee National Wildlife Refuge
Wellfleet Health & Conservation, and Shellfish Department
West Barnstable Fire Department
Town of Yarmouth
Barnstable County REPC